Demo Movies

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Over the last week or so I've been working on something I've wanted to work on for a long time, a tool built into GMod to easily convert demo files into movie files.

There are actually a variety of ways to accomplish this without this tool, but none are really that easy. So in the next GMod Beta update you'll be able to select a demo (from your local demos, or from workshop) and easily and simply render it to a video file.

But there's more - you can render them with DOF, camera smoothing and frame blending. You can see what that looks like here - be sure to turn it to 1080!

I owe a lot of thanks to max for helping me get the frame blending just right, and teaching me about the 180 degree shutter rule.

When it's rendering it shows a screen like this, with the time taken, time remaining etc.. There's probably more useful stuff I can add to this screen too - like what's taking the most time, rendering or encoding.

So, yeah, it should make creating nice little movies from GMod demos a lot more accessible for everyone.

More Rubbish

Your Portfolio Gave Me Diarrhea

Friday, October 1, 2021

Motivation

Friday, September 24, 2021

We got married

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Unity Quiz

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Everything We Watched In Lockdown

Thursday, September 3, 2020

DOTA2

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Weight Loss Update

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Cheaters in GMod

Friday, April 27, 2012

Portable Computer

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Coding Websites in C++

Friday, April 13, 2012