Resuable Tools

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Someone in the forums decided to make a GUI editor for their engine a couple of days ago. It got me wondering about something that I've been wondering since I was working on GWEN.

Why isn't there a GUI editor that has plugins that let you export to 'your' format. One editor, many formats. When you think about it most GUI systems are the same. They're a bunch of controls that sit on and next to each other. A few things might differ like texture format, or font size/positioning, support for docking or control anchoring. But the majority is the same. Panels, buttons, text inputs, checkboxes, dropdowns, sliders, drag zones.

It seems like people are re-coding the whole thing over and over - when they only really need to code the exporter.

More Rubbish

Your Portfolio Gave Me Diarrhea

Friday, October 1, 2021

Motivation

Friday, September 24, 2021

We got married

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Unity Quiz

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Everything We Watched In Lockdown

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Design by Committee

Thursday, August 22, 2013

The Columbo

Friday, August 16, 2013

This Old House

Friday, August 2, 2013

Clustered

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

The Rust backend

Sunday, July 7, 2013