Spawnicons

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

I've re-written the spawnicon code in GMod. It'll probably be fun to review the life of the spawnicons.

This is how the spawnicon started. It was a button on the wall in gm_construct.

A few versions later it evolved into this

Which was actually a huge leap forward because now it's map independent. The buttons got more organised over time.

And didn't change much, until in GMod 9 they got images.

The images weren't auto generated. You had to take screenshots and make an icon for it outside of the game.

In GMod 10 I finally had enough brains to make the icons auto generate. I've been tweaking that over the last couple of days. I've got the icons outputting as PNG files with (simulated) alpha, instead of TGA's with no alpha. I'm not going to show you what they look like ingame just yet (I know, I'm a tease), but I thought that someone might find this useful.

I've outputted all of TF2's models to 512x512 PNG spawnicons with (simulated) alpha. Might be useful for anyone making a TF2 related website or something?

They're autogenerated so they're not all perfectly aligned, but a lot of them are pretty and I'm sure people will find a use for them.

Obviously it's all Valve's property so bear that in mind if you decide to do something with them! Download (75mb)

More Rubbish

Your Portfolio Gave Me Diarrhea

Friday, October 1, 2021

Motivation

Friday, September 24, 2021

We got married

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Unity Quiz

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Everything We Watched In Lockdown

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Office Dog

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

The Plan

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Erection Failure

Friday, September 2, 2011

The Wild

Thursday, September 1, 2011

GWEN Skins / Pixel Reading

Sunday, August 28, 2011