Steam Captcha

Saturday, March 31, 2012

I just opened the new GMod Wiki open to registrations. Within a couple of hours there'd been attacks by about 4 spambots. How annoying. You can use captcha's against these things - but they rarely work because believe it or not it's actual humans filling out the captchas.

So I made a quick plugin for mediawiki. When you try to create an account it asks you to log in using Steam (something anyone editing the wiki should have). Once you've done that it saves a cookie saying you're `ok` and you're free to create an account.

It doesn't create an account based on your SteamID anymore. That system proved to be more trouble than it's worth. But it does offer you perfect shelter from spambots.

If you want to try it out:

require_once( "$IP/extensions/SteamCaptcha/SteamCaptcha.php" );

Feel free to improve/redistribute/do whatever you want with it. You could probably use it as an example of how to make a log in page using Steam's OpenID stuff.

More Rubbish

Your Portfolio Gave Me Diarrhea

Friday, October 1, 2021

Motivation

Friday, September 24, 2021

We got married

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Unity Quiz

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Everything We Watched In Lockdown

Thursday, September 3, 2020

Quitting Caffine

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Making Gamemodes Better

Monday, March 12, 2012

Lottery Results

Sunday, March 4, 2012

GWEN Designer

Friday, March 2, 2012

Unclamped Faceposer

Wednesday, February 29, 2012