The Columbo

Friday, August 16, 2013

Since coming up with GMod and making lots of money, buying a house and starting a company - I've been out of my depth in a lot of situations.

Going from being refused a £5,000 5-year car loan to having the manager of the same bank send you beer every Christmas takes some getting used to. The problem is - you don't know anything about investments, are they scamming you, are they giving you the wrong advice? The same with accountants and solicitors. Are they legit, are they giving you bad advice because they know you'll get in trouble and it will be more work for them? Do they have your best interests at heart - or can they just smell the money?

The temptation is to act like you know what you're doing so they think they can't get anything past you. This is a bad move. If they want to shaft you they will - your bullshit will be like a red rag to a bull.

What I did was The Columbo. Just pretend you know a lot less than you know. Ask questions that you know the answers to. If that doesn't line up you know they're trying to fuck you in the ass.

More Rubbish

Your Portfolio Gave Me Diarrhea

Friday, October 1, 2021

Motivation

Friday, September 24, 2021

We got married

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Unity Quiz

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Everything We Watched In Lockdown

Thursday, September 3, 2020

This Old House

Friday, August 2, 2013

Clustered

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

The Rust backend

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Server Downloads

Thursday, July 4, 2013

The Story of Rust

Friday, June 21, 2013